A Chronicle of Renewal and Revival


A Holy Week

A Holy Week All

Holy Week
Palm Sunday to Easter Sunday

Selections for each day of Holy Week

Paperback and eBook on Amazon & Kindle
Free airmail postage worldwide

Read Sample

See also: Christian Passover Service
Christian Passover Service – READ SAMPLE

See also: The Lion of Judah Series   

1  The Titles of Jesus
2  The Reign of Jesus
3  The Life of Jesus
4  The Death of Jesus
5  The Resurrection of Jesus
6  The Spirit of Jesus
7  The Lion of Judah

Selections from The Death of Jesus:

Holy week, from Jesus’ triumphal entry into Jerusalem on Palm Sunday to his death and resurrection, is by far the greatest week in history.  Jesus, the Lamb of God, the Son of God, the Saviour of the world, chose to be crucified in Jerusalem at the Passover festival. He became our Passover Lamb, slain from the foundation of the world.  The Old Testament points to Jesus, the Messiah, God’s Anointed One. The New Testament tells his story and calls us to respond in faith to his gift of salvation and eternal life.

Key Passages

Holy Week: the last week of the earthly life of Jesus may be summarized this way as a general guide. The different Gospels record different events, each one telling the Gospel, the good news, in their own way. So this arrangement is an estimate of the sequence of the momentous developments in Holy Week.

Holy Week

This summary follows the outline in Mark’s Gospel:
Selections from The Lion of Judah (4) The Death of Jesus & Holy Week

Palm Sunday – Day of Demonstration
Mark 11:1-11 (Zech 9:9) – Jesus enters Jerusalem

Monday – Day of Authority
Mark 11:12-19 – fig tree, temple cleansed

Tuesday – Day of Conflict
Mark 11:20 – 13:36 – debates with leaders

Wednesday – Day of Preparation
Mark 14:1-11 – anointed at Bethany

Thursday – Day of Farewell
Mark 14:12-42 – last supper

Good Friday – Day of Crucifixion
Mark 14:43 – 15:47 – trials and death

Saturday – Day of Sabbath
Mark 15:46-47 – tomb sealed

Easter Sunday – Day of Resurrection
Mark 16:1-18 – resurrection appearances

Easter Friday It is finishedGood Friday – Day of Crucifixion
It is accomplished

Easter Friday stripes

Easter Friday lamb

Easter Friday 7 words

Seven Statements on the Cross

  1. Father forgive them, for they know not what they do (Luke 23:34).
  2. Truly, I say to you, today you will be with me in paradise (Luke 23:43).
  3. Woman, behold your son: behold your mother (John 19:26-27).
  4. My God, My God, why have you forsaken me, (Matthew 27:46 and Mark 15:34).
  5. I thirst (John 19:28).
  6. It is finished (John 19:30).
  7. Father, into your hands I commit my spirit (Luke 23:46; see Psalm 31:5).

This summary uses NKJV. The Mounce translation (www.biblegateway.com) of John 19:30 is ‘It is accomplished.’ Traditionally, these seven statements are called words of

  1. Forgiveness,
  2. Salvation,
  3. Relationship,
  4. Abandonment,
  5. Distress,
  6. Triumph, and
  7. Reunion.

Further Resource -available as Blog, eBook – READ SAMPLE,  and Paperback.

A Christian PassoverChristian Passover Service

This order of service for Passover is an attempt to be as true as possible to the historic one Jesus had with his disciples.   The present day Passover as celebrated by millions of Jews is in the same order, and contains everything in this service (except for references to what Jesus did with it) as well as many additions that have been made, particularly since the destruction of the Temple in 70 AD.

Back to Christian Passover Service

Back to The Lion of Judah (4) the Death of Jesus

Back to The Lion of Judah Series

Back to Main Page



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: